Thursday, July 5, 2012

Innovative "BOAT" Format: Red Bull Wake Open

Wakeboarding's top contest organizers and pro riders got together to discuss a forward-thinking strategy for the BOAT format at Red Bull Wake Open. This event is one of three categories (BIG AIR, PARK) and will take place Thursday, July 12. The venue is closed to the public, but the footage will air on NBC from 1-3 p.m. EST on Sat., July 14 as part of the Red Bull Signature Series

Viewers can expect to be psyched on the production quality, as the sport's top filmers will be on the water, ground, and in the air with the best high-speed cameras in the world. Spectators (and boaters) are encouraged to come out for BIG AIR and PARK finals in downtown Tampa on Friday and Saturday (schedule below).

The panel discussed the current wake formats, what would look good on TV, and having a consistent format across multiple disciplines to put on the best show for a mainstream audience. The conclusion appeared in the following format:
  • Each rider gets two opportunities (passes) at a five-trick run. 
  • To push style elements, one of these tricks are required to be a 360 or less (360, 180, straight air). 
  • At the end of two passes, each rider will get a double up of their choice (semis and finals only).
  • Judges are looking for style, execution, diversity, amplitude and difficulty.
Malibu Wakesetter MXZ: Official Towboat
The 20 invited riders will battle it out through the following system:

Qualifying Round: 4 rounds of 5 riders (top 2 transfer)
Semis: 2 rounds of 4 riders (top 2 transfer)
Finals: 1 round of 4 riders

Judges: Rob Corum, Ryan Wolfe, Ben Greenwood

BIG AIR Event:
Friday, July 13 4-8 p.m.

PARK Event:
Saturday, July 14 12-3 p.m.

Tampa Convention Center
333 South Franklin Street
Tampa, FL 33602

(more to be included in Big Air and Park)
Shane Bonifay, Harley Clifford, Raphael Derome, Olivier Derome, Adam Errington, Tom Fooshee, Danny Harf, Randall Harris, Keith Lidberg, Steel Lafferty, Rusty Malinoski, Chris O'Shea, Daniel Powers, Aaron Rathy, Chad Sharpe, Dean Smith, Phil Soven, Shota Tezuka, JD Webb

No comments: